A New Journey As Desert Edge Arts Finds A New Home

IMG_7393

Introducing the new home of Desert Edge Arts . I have secured 2 shops side by side that are connected internally and  will house my Gallery space, the new Gallery space doubles the amount I previously had. I will sell Art Supplies,  Picture Framing , and a beautiful light filled room for art workshops and my studio. Through my blog I will take you on my journey as I renovate, repair, clean, paint, clean, did I mention Clean lol there is a lot of cleaning to bring these 2 spaces to Glory housing the new home of Desert Edge Arts.

Shop 89 was an Ice-Cream Parlour hence the sign-age, IMG_739589 will become my workshop/studio space this beautiful room is over 40 feet long, I know I’m showing my age working in feet a little exercise for anyone who wants to convert it and about 25 feet wide with a kitchen and toilet. 89 needs some attention before it opens its doors to do its job.

Apart from the cosmetics of cleaning 89 and painting it, and removing unwanted botch y cupboards 89 has sat idle and unloved for 2 years, so  white ants moved through a section of the skirting board and part of the floor so some repairs are needed. The first day I received the keys I removed sticky signs from the right hand window.

Paint is peeling of the ceiling as well as the walls and some ugly notice boards removed from the wall yesterday revealed some vintage art sign-age, and still so many more stickers of walls and window before a paint brush can go near the walls or ceiling lots of preparation.

End of day 2 and the second window is now free of sticky advertising IMG_7410

IMG_7396 Shop 87 has a beautiful big open frontage of glass display windows that capture the light. 87 will house a beautiful New Gallery for Nhill, a fantastic assortment of art supplies.The front windows are going to be fantastic for display, being quite roomy and the way they wrap the entrance the shop front is highly visible from the supermarket across the road, the post office on the corner and the Shire buildings opposite. 87 is also only one shop away from the busiest take away food outlet in-town.  IMG_739787 used to be a clothing store and we will remove all the unnecessary fittings making it a beautiful large light filled Gallery space with art supplies as well.

Today we removed the change rooms that we don’t want, removing these from the space gives the gallery an extra 13 feet of hanging space.IMG_7399

Removing some of the other fittings of the walls also freed up another 8 feet of wall space. We have been mindful to preserve the materials as we have removed them so there is the potential for them to be up-cycled else where in the shop or by some-one else. We are just going about it like the tortoise slow and steady and we will get there. We anticipate we will be open and trading mid Feb. We plan to have our Official Opening when ‘Kinship’ the Australia wide touring exhibition by Jandamarra Cadd comes into the Gallery in April 2015

3 thoughts on “A New Journey As Desert Edge Arts Finds A New Home

Leave a comment